The Adventures of Champion

The exploits of Champion, a wild stallion who befriends twelve year-old Ricky North in the American Southwest in the 1880's. Although Ricky, who lived on his Uncle Sandy's ranch, had a magnetic attraction for trouble, he was always rescued by the Wonder Horse, aided by the boy's other bosom companion, German shepherd dog, Rebel.

The Adventures of Champion is an American children’s Western series that aired from September 23, 1955 to March 3, 1956 for 26 episodes on CBS. In the United Kingdom, the series was re-broadcast under the title Champion the Wonder Horse. Unusually for a black and white show, the series was still being repeated in the UK during school holidays as late as the early 1980s.

Set in the 1880s in the Southwest, the series starred Barry Curtis as 12-year-old Ricky North, who lived on his uncle’s ranch in the American Southwest. Ricky’s uncle, Sandy North, was played by Jim Bannon. Ricky’s companions were a wild Mustang stallion, Champion, and a German Shepherd, Rebel, played by Blaze.

Champion as Champion, the Wonder Horse
Barry Curtis as Ricky North
Jim Bannon as Sandy North
Blaze as Rebel, the Dog
Ewing Mitchell as Sheriff
Bob Woodward as Stage Driver
Francis McDonald as Will Calhoun
Glenn Strange as Dodge Kelley

Be the first to review “The Adventures of Champion”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

There are no reviews yet.